Share this story...
Latest News
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Joey Lucchesi
ERA W-L K
3.34 4-5 69
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 6/6/1993 Birthplace: Newark, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Padres (2016)


Latest News
July 12 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 4-5, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 1 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 4-3, allowing one hit and four walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Saturday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 25 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Monday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 20 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST4:47 PM CST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Oakland Athletics 12-4 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 15 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST10:44 AM CST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Lucchesi (right hip strain) has been activated from the disabled list to start Wednesday against the A's.
Analysis: Lucchesi is ready for his first major league start since May 14 after delivering four hitless innings in Thursday's rehab outing with Class A Lake Elsinore, though he threw only 47 pitches. With a 3.23 ERA and 48 strikeouts through his first 47 1/3 major league innings, the 25-year-old showed a lot of potential before landing on the DL.
May 15 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE12:08 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-4 on Monday. Lucchesi struck out two, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 10 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 5 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the New York Mets 12-2 on Saturday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 2-1, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-1 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.66 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-2 on Tuesday. Lucchesi struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-1 on Thursday. Lucchesi struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs on seven hits in 4.2 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-6 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out one, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-The rebuilding San Diego Padres will get their first real look at one of their hotshot pitching prospects, Joey Lucchesi, earlier than originally expected. The 24-year-old lefty, sent down to the minors on Saturday after a strong spring training, is scheduled to make his big league debut Friday night against the Milwaukee Brewers.
Analysis: Lucchesi will start in place of Dinelson Lamet, who strained his right elbow on Sunday in the Padres' final game in Arizona and is expected to be out for a month. The Padres figured they'd bring up Lucchesi sometime this season, just not this quickly. He had a 1.54 ERA in four spring starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 SD 4 5 0 - 0 14 14 0 67.1 57 28 25 10 25 1 69 1.22 3.34
Career 4 5 0 - 0 14 14 0 67.1 57 28 25 10 25 1 69 1.22 3.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 SD 14 17 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 11 0 0 .059 .200 .059
Career 14 17 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 11 0 0 .059 .200 .059


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 720 93 86 90.2 63.83
Curveball 46 79 73 76.4 4.08
Changeup 362 82 76 79.1 32.09

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.