close_menu
THE DAILY ROLL
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Ian Desmond
AVG HR RBI
.271 5 25
Team: ColoradoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 214 NFBC ADP: 76.09
Position: LFBorn: 9/20/1985 Birthplace: Sarasota, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Expos (2004)


Latest News
June 24 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Friday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
June 22 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Desmond went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-3. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
Analysis: He's 2 for 12 in the last four games.
June 22 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 16-5. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
June 21 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET16:48 GMT0:48 9:48 AM MST11:48 AM EST12:18 PM VEN20:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
June 19 10:37 AM PT11:37 AM MT12:37 PM CT1:37 PM ET13:37 ET17:37 GMT1:37 10:37 AM MST12:37 PM EST1:07 PM VEN21:37 UAE12:37 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies beat the San Francisco Giants 7-5. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
Analysis: The Rockies are off before hosting the Diamondbacks on Tuesday, and Desmond is just 1 for 19 with seven strikeouts lifetime against Zack Greinke, the scheduled starter for the series opener.
June 18 7:49 AM PT8:49 AM MT9:49 AM CT10:49 AM ET10:49 ET14:49 GMT22:49 7:49 AM MST9:49 AM EST10:19 AM VEN18:49 UAE9:49 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 3 Saturday as the Colorado Rockies topped the San Francisco Giants 5-1. Desmond scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
June 17 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 3 with a home run and four RBIs Friday as the Colorado Rockies beat the San Francisco Giants 10-8. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond, who signed a five-year, $70 million contract in the offseason, hasn't showed much power after starting the season on the disabled list. Friday's homer was just his fifth but it gave the Rockies a lead they never ceded.
June 16 9:09 AM PT10:09 AM MT11:09 AM CT12:09 PM ET12:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE11:09 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Thursday as the Colorado Rockies topped the San Francisco Giants 10-9. Desmond scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond is batting .361 with seven runs and six RBIs in his last nine games. Four of his six stolen bases have also come during this stretch.
June 15 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1. The homer was his fourth of the season. Desmond scored twice. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond has two homers and 10 RBIs through 13 games in June, the same numbers he had in 27 games last month.
June 14 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
June 12 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Desmond went 1 for 3 with a double Monday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-2. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
Analysis: He's 7 for 16 in his last four games.
June 11 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 with two RBIs Sunday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Chicago Cubs 7-5. Desmond added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond has been swinging it well lately, as he's 9 for 22 (.409) with four RBIs over a five-game stretch. Though he's still yet to show much power, expect his home run total to rise over the next few weeks.
June 10 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 5 with an RBI Saturday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 9-1. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
June 9 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 3 for 4 Friday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 5-3. Desmond scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Analysis: It was his second three-hit performance in his last three games.
June 9 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 4-1. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
June 7 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Desmond went 3 for 5 with an RBI Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Cleveland Indians 8-1. Desmond scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
Analysis: He totaled three hits in his previous six games.
June 7 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Cleveland Indians 11-3. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
June 5 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies beat the San Diego Padres 3-1. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
June 4 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET16:48 GMT0:48 9:48 AM MST11:48 AM EST12:18 PM VEN20:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 5 with a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the Colorado Rockies beat the San Diego Padres 10-1. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
June 3 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 5 with an RBI Friday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Diego Padres 8-5. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
Analysis: It was the first RBI in 11 games for Desmond, who has gone eight straight without an extra-base hit.
June 1 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Seattle Mariners 6-3. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
June 1 10:47 PM PT11:47 PM MT12:47 AM CT1:47 AM ET1:47 ET5:47 GMT13:47 10:47 PM MST12:47 AM EST1:17 AM VEN9:47 UAE12:47 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-0. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
May 30 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Seattle Mariners 10-4. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
May 28 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies topped the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond has hit in six straight games and 14 of his last 16.
May 28 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 Saturday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-0. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 27 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Friday as the Colorado Rockies beat the St. Louis Cardinals 10-0. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
May 25 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 5 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 25 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 5 with a triple Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 23 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-2. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
May 21 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 5 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Cincinnati Reds 6-4. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 20 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Cincinnati Reds 12-8. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
May 19 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Cincinnati Reds 12-6. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
May 19 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Minnesota Twins 2-0. He ended the game with a .299 batting average.
May 18 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Minnesota Twins 5-1 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond has hit safely in six straight games and is batting .364 with six RBIs in his last nine.
May 17 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Minnesota Twins 7-3. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
May 14 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-6. He ended the game with a .304 batting average.
May 14 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0. Desmond added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 13 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Friday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
May 12 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 3 with two doubles and two RBIs Thursday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-7. Desmond scored twice. He ended the game with a .318 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond reached base four times and notched his third multihit performance in four games.
May 10 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 2 with an RBI Wednesday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 3-0. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Chicago Cubs 8-1. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 9 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 8 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Colorado Rockies topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
May 7 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Colorado Rockies beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-1. Desmond scored once. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
May 6 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 0 for 4 Friday as the Colorado Rockies fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3. He ended the game with a .304 batting average.
May 4 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Ian Desmond went 2 for 5 Thursday as the Colorado Rockies topped the San Diego Padres 3-2. Desmond scored twice. He ended the game with a .368 batting average.
Analysis: Desmond has picked up where he left off last season, going 7 for 19 with two home runs and three RBIs in his first four games back.
May 4 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Desmond hit two home runs off Jered Weaver and drove in three runs to help rookie right-hander Antonio Senzatela and the Rockies beat the sloppy San Diego Padres 11-3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Desmond, who joined the Rockies as a free agent and missed the first 25 games after breaking his left hand during spring training, had no homers coming into the night. He was activated on Sunday. This was his third game.
May 3 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Ian Desmond went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2. Desmond scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Mar. 12 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Desmond was activated from the 10-day disabled list and made his season debut Sunday at Arizona, where he finished 1 for 5 with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Colorado's marquee offseason addition may need some time to get going after being out since mid-March due to a broken left hand. Desmond still has plenty of long-term appeal by playing half his games at Coors Field.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Was 21 82 9 23 7 2 4 12 5 14 1 0 .280 .318 .561
2010 Was 154 525 59 141 27 4 10 65 28 109 17 5 .269 .308 .392
2011 Was 154 584 65 148 27 5 8 49 35 139 25 10 .253 .298 .358
2012 Was 130 513 72 150 33 2 25 73 30 113 21 6 .292 .335 .511
2013 Was 158 600 77 168 38 3 20 80 43 145 21 6 .280 .331 .453
2014 Was 154 593 73 151 26 3 24 91 46 183 24 5 .255 .313 .430
2015 Was 156 583 69 136 27 2 19 62 45 187 13 5 .233 .290 .384
2016 Tex 156 625 107 178 29 3 22 86 44 160 21 6 .285 .335 .446
2017 Col 49 192 28 52 6 1 5 25 7 55 7 3 .271 .300 .391
Career 1132 4297 559 1147 220 25 137 543 283 1105 150 46 .267 .315 .425

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Was Total 5 19 2 7 1 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .368 .368 .421
    LDS 5 19 2 7 1 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .368 .368 .421
2014 Was Total 4 18 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 6 1 0 .167 .211 .167
    LDS 4 18 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 6 1 0 .167 .211 .167
2016 Tex Total 3 14 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 3 0 0 .214 .214 .286
    LDS 3 14 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 3 0 0 .214 .214 .286
Career 12 51 4 13 2 0 0 2 1 12 1 0 .255 .269 .294


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.